Why is the ladybug called a ladybug?

The name "ladybird" originated in Britain where the insects became known as "Our Lady's bird" or the Lady beetle. Mary was often depicted wearing a red cloak in early paintings, and the spots of the seven-spot ladybird were said to symbolize her seven joys and seven sorrows.