What is the material cashmere made out of?

Cashmere wool, usually simply known as cashmere, is a fiber obtained from cashmere goats or pashmina goats and other types of goat. It has been used to make yarn, textiles and clothing for hundreds of years. The word cashmere is an anglicisation of Kashmir.