When was the first human heart transplant?

December 3rd 1967. The recipient was Louis Washkansky, the doctor was Dr Christiaan Barnard. It was performed at Groote Schuur Hospital, Cape Town, south Africa, performed with a team of 30 support staff including his brother Marius.