What does intonation mean in guitar?

Intonation, relative to a guitar, means the accuracy of notes all along the fretboard. With proper intonation, a guitar will be in-tune for every note. If a guitar has poor intonation, some notes may be in tune and others not, usually increasing the further up the fretboard you play.