What is the definition of paid?

As a verb, P,A,I,D, is the past tense of the financial verb Pay. It means compensation has been given. As an adjective, it refers to a person or account that has been compensated. In nautical terms, the homonym P,A,Y,E,D, refers to rope or line that has been let out.