What is the last battle of the civil war?

The last land battle of the U.S. Civil War was the Battle of Palmito Ranch. It was fought near Brownsville, Texas on May 12, 1865, three days after the official end of the war. A force of 350 Confederates under Col. John “Rip” Ford defeated 800 Union troops led by Col. Theodore H. Barrett.