What is sodium benzoate?

Sodium benzoate is best known as a food preservative, though it has several other uses. It is the sodium salt of benzoic acid and exists in this form when dissolved in water. It can be produced by reacting sodium hydroxide with benzoic acid. The chemical formula is C₆H₅COONa.