What is an object compliment?

An object complement is a noun, a pronoun, or an adjective that follows a direct object to rename it or state what it has become. Chocolate makes Tanya happy. In this sentence the object is Tanya and happy is the object complement.

---

An object complement is a word that "renames" the object of a sentence. Object complements occur when the verb of the sentence is "factitive," that is a verb that suggests changing the nature of something or someone. For example, the class appointed me queen. Queen is object complement.