What side of the plate does a fork go?

Forks go on the left side of the plate

---

There are several forks used in a meal. To the left of the plate are the salad, dinner, and fish forks. The oyster fork is placed to the right of the plate, and the dessert fork is placed above the plate with the handle pointing left. Utensils are placed in order of use, outside being used first.