Why do bees have stingers?

To protect the hive. Bees have a stinger that is barbed and detaches itself from the bees body. the bee will die but the bee is not important but the hive and Queen bee is what they sacrifice themselves for. The hive is everything to the bee.

---

Bees sting to protect the hive. Some types of bee like the honeybee can only sting once so they are very careful about when they will sting. Other types of bee like hornets can sting many times so they are more likely to sting you even if you aren't close to their hive.