What is elephant trophy hunting?

Elephant trophy hunting generally involves the payment of a fee for a hunting experience, usually supervised, for one or more specimens with specific desired characteristics (such as large size or tusks). It is legal to hunt elephants in many African countries.

---

Trophy hunting is a form of sport hunting in which wild animals are valued as trophies. Parts of the hunted animal are kept and displayed by the hunter to honour the animal and remember the experience of the hunt.