Who is the most decorated war hero?

Audie Murphy was the most decorated U.S. soldier. Though he was only 21 years old at the end of the war, he had killed 240 German soldiers, had been wounded three times and had earned 33 awards and medals. After the war, he appeared in more than 40 films.