How does air form?

The air we breathe is a combination of gasses that are formed or released by the balance of our ecosystem. Everything we do affects the balance of our ecosystem. Example: a tree breathes in carbon dioxide and breathes out oxygen. When a tree decays or is burned all that carbon dioxide is released.