What is the origin of the word guillotine?

According to Wikipedia, the guillotine is a machine of French design, inspired by old models of beheading machines , and which was used in France for the official application of the death penalty by beheading. It was named after, but not invented by, Dr. Joseph Ignace Guillotin.