Why was the song driver's license made?

The basic Drivers License lyrics meaning is centered around a heartbroken teenage girl, trying to get over her ex-boyfriend who has moved on with a new person. Olivia Rodrigo says she wrote the song to try to help people deal with heartbreak and tough times.