Why do cats not like citrus?

According to Dr. Marci Koski, a certified cat behavior and training consultant based in Vancouver, Washington, this natural aversion to strong, citrusy smells means that cats tend to avoid eating it. That’s because oils from citrus fruits like oranges, lime, lemon, and grapefruit are toxic to them.