How many characters are in sonic?

The 15 characters of the roster in this game are: Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, Amy, Chao, Big, Blaze, Silver, Vector, Shadow, Rouge, Omega, Metal Sonic, Dr. Eggman and Zavok.