How many teaspoons is a smidgen?

In days before accurate measuring cups or spoons were common, cooks used terms like pinch, smidgen, glassful, handful, or even a 'good measure', to identify quantities in a recipe. This was left to interpretation as those terms were vague. A smidgen, would probably be about a teaspoonful.