What kind of food is poke?

Poke means “to slice or cut” in Hawaiian and refers to chunks of raw, marinated fish — usually tuna — which is then tossed over rice and topped with vegetables and umami-packed sauces. “It's the next generation of sushi,” says chef Dakota Weiss of Sweetfin Poké in L.A. “But easier to eat.”