Why is a hot dog not a sandwich?

The US Department of Agriculture describes a sandwich as “two slices of bread, or the top and bottom sections of a sliced bun, that enclose meat or poultry.” When food experts try to nail down whether or not hot dogs are a sandwich, they refer back to USDA's wording therefore a hot dog is a sandwich