Why do they call and eggroll an egg roll?

Egg Rolls are a strictly Chinese- American meal and no one knows who invented them. A possible origin for the name could be a dish called "Dan Gun" or Egg Roll. In 1917, a Chinese American Cookbook was published with a dish that was vegetables and meat literally wrapped up in an egg and sliced.