Tell me about modified cotton as a food source?

U.S. regulators gave the green light for genetically modified cotton to be used for human consumption. This is a protein-packed new food source, edible cotton seeds that taste a bit like chickpeas. It developers say could help tackle global malnutrition as food for people and all types of animals.