Where does the term copycat come from?

The expression copycat may have originated from observing the habits of kittens that learned by imitating the behavior of their mother.

---

The term copycat refers to the tendency of humans to duplicate the behavior of others, as expressed in the saying, 'monkey see, monkey do'. The expression may have originated from observing the habits of kittens that learned by imitating the behavior of their mother.