What's the difference between buttermilk and sour milk?

Buttermilk used to be the watery stuff leftover from making butter. These days, it is made by adding a lactic acid bacteria to regular pasteurized milk. Sour milk is made by adding vinegar and lemon juice to regular milk to make it sour.