Where does the stratosphere begin?

The stratosphere is the second major layer of Earth's atmosphere just above the troposphere and below the mesosphere. Near the equator the lower edge of the stratosphere is as high as 66,000 feet (12 miles), around 33,000 feet (6.2 mi) at midlatitudes, and at about 23,000 feet (4.3 mi) at the poles.