Do dates have to be refrigerated?

Dried dates can be refrigerated for a year, or frozen for as long as 5 years. Store dates in an airtight container or resealable plastic bag, and label the bag with the date you bought them. If they develop a dusty exterior over time, it simply means the sugars are making their way to the surface.