What is the mirepoix?

Mirepoix (pronunciation: meer-PWAH) is the aromatic flavor base made by lightly cooking onions, celery, and carrots. The vegetables are cooked slowly in butter or oil in order to coax out the flavors without browning or caramelizing them. Mirepoix is traditionally used as a flavoring ingredient

---

Mirepoix is the aromatic flavor base made by lightly cooking onions, celery, and carrots. The vegetables are cooked slowly in butter.