Where did the saying doh originate?

Homer Simpson first said d’oh on a Tracey Ullman Show short entitled "Punching Bag", which first aired on November 27, 1988. It made its “The Simpsons” debut in their first episode “Simpsons Roasting on an open Fire” December 17, 1989.