Are cold potatoes?

The slang phrase “cold potatoes” describes something that’s lost value and/or has become less desirable. A related phrase is “cold as yesterday’s mashed potatoes.” In contrast, “hot potatoes”’ is used in reference to something or someone deemed valuable and worthy of high praise and admiration.