What's the difference between plaque and tartar?

Tartar is what accumulates on your teeth when plaque is not removed. If plaque is left on your teeth for too long, it will harden into tartar and is much more difficult to remove. In fact, tartar can only be removed by a dental professional. You can't get rid of it with regular brushing & flossing.

---

Dental plaque is that soft, sticky film that builds up on your teeth and under your gums throughout the day. When not removed, plaque turns to tartar, which is very hard and difficult to remove, requiring a dentist.