What is punky wood?

Punk or punky wood is a soft, rotted area, usually in the center of a tree or log. This condition is usually caused by fungal infection, and may not be easy to identify from the outside. Punky wood can interfere with woodworking projects such as turning. However, punky wood is not always a problem.