When was the french horn invented?

Horn, also called French horn, French cor d'harmonie, German Waldhorn, the orchestral and military brass instrument derived from the trompe (or cor) de chasse, a large circular hunting horn that appeared in France about 1650 and soon began to be used orchestrally.