Why do humans have two legs?

Humans generally have two legs due to that design being encoded in human DNA.

---

Humans are bipedal animals that exclusively use two legs for locomotion and in our DNA. This frees hands and arms to lift or manipulate objects considering we can't efficiently walk on all fours. Some animals stand on hind legs to reach food so this may be a primary reason why humans are bipeds.