How many ounces in a chopped onion?

Small onions weigh around 4 ounces, fits easily in your hand, and yields about half cup chopped. Medium onions are twice as big as small, weighing 8 ounces and yielding a cup chopped. Large onions are three times larger than small onions, weighing 12 ounces, and should give you 1.5 cups chopped.