What makes a mountain a mountain?

They usually have steep, sloping sides and sharp or rounded ridges, a high point, called a peak or summit. Most geologists classify a mountain as a landform that rises at least 1,000 feet or more above its surrounding area. A mountain range is a series or chain of mountains that are close together