Why do people have two different colored eyes?

Complete heterochromia is when they have two different colored eyes. Heterochromia of the eye is due to variations in the concentration and distribution of melanin, the pigment that gives color to the skin, hair, and eyes. The condition is also known as heterochromia iridis or heterochromia iridum.