What is sodium phosphorous?

Sodium phosphate is commonly used in adults 18 years of age or older to empty the colon before a colonoscopy (which is the examination of the inside of the colon to check for colon cancer and other abnormalities) so that the doctor will have a clear view of the walls of the colon.