What is the origin of basket case?

The Online Etymology Dictionary confirms that "basket case", which dates to the US in 1919, originally referred to quadriplegics who had suffered catastrophic wounds in the first world war, adding grimly that this was "probably literal – i.e. stuck in a basket".