How do you clean gold jewelry?

Mix a bit of Dawn dish detergent in warm, not hot, water. Add a few drops of ammonia. Carefully brush with a new, baby-size soft toothbrush. Place in lukewarm water to rinse. Air dry or carefully towel-dry with paper towel or regular cloth.