What's the difference between a new york strip steak and a kansas city strip steak?

There is no difference. They are exactly the same, cut from the short loin. They were universally called "Kansas City strips" until Delmonico's restaurant in New York City decided sometime in the 1930's to call it a "New York strip" on their menu.

---

A New York strip is boneless, and the Kansas City has a bone. Both are cut from the larger end of the loin.