How long does it take to boil five pounds of whole potatoes?

It will depend on the size of the potatoes. To start, add potatoes to a large pot and fill with cold water. Bring to a rapid boil and boil for five minutes. Pierce potatoes with a fork to check the doneness. If fork comes out easily, potatoes are ready to drain. If not, continue boiling until soft.