What's the muzzle velocity of a five five six?

All of the 5.56×45 rounds remain at supersonic speeds throughout the 500-yard range. The 7.62×39 rounds have an average muzzle velocity of 2,352ft. sec and end at the 500-yard mark with an average of 1,123ft.

---

In 1963 SAAMI issued the specifications for a Remington designed bullet and the use of IMR4475 Powder which resulted in a muzzle velocity of 3,250 ft per second and a chamber pressure of 52,000 psi from a 22" barrel. Many factors come into play such as powder type, bullet type and barrel length.