Where do pineapple trees grow?

Even though pineapples are considered a fruit (and a fruit generally comes from trees — unless it's a berry), pineapples actually grow on a plant close to the ground. Each pineapple plant bears exactly one pineapple. Most are grown in the Philippines, Thailand, Brazil and Costa Rica.

---

In 2017, world production of pineapples was 27.4 million tons, led by Costa Rica, the Philippines, Brazil, and Thailand as the largest producers.