Why are jelly beans called jelly beans?

The earliest known reference to jelly beans was in an 1861 ad for William Schrafft of Boston that promoted sending jelly beans to soldiers in the Union Army during the Civil War. A primary food in the 1800s was beans. The name refers to the shape and ingredients of the candy.