When did adam sandler start acting?

Sandler's first TV appearance was on The Cosby Show (1987), in which he featured as a friend of the Huxtable family. He continued to perform stand-up, and, during a performance in Los Angeles, comedian Dennis Miller took notice and later recommended him to Saturday Night Live.