What is mortal kombat about?

Mortal Kombat is an American media franchise centered on a series of video games, originally developed by Midway Games' Chicago studio in 1992. Mortal Kombat was the first ever fighting game to introduce a secret fighter, reached if the player fulfilled a set of requirements.