Are flying turtles real?

No, flying turtles are not real. However, they look like they are flying through the water as they swim.

---

The flying turtle (Halitestudineus volatus), considered an insipid pest by some and a modern miracle of evolution by others, is the only turtle known to fly. The flying turtle's scientific name signifies a sea (halo) turtle (testudineus) with the ability to fly (volatus).