Do you need a p. h. d. to become a veterinarian?

To become a full-fledged veterinarian, you'll need to complete a four-year undergraduate degree and earn a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree. This degree is commonly abbreviated as a DVM or a VMD, and it takes four years to earn.