What are zuzu's petals?

Zuzu's petals are the sad remains of a flower that she brought home from school. She and her flower were apparently poorly dressed by Zuzu's teacher for the cold weather. Zuzu got a bad cold but her flower didn't make it. Still, Harry was excited to see them again. Watch the movie, it's good.