What's a tology?

A tautology is a statement that is true by necessity or by virtue of its logical form (e.g. Either it will rain tomorrow or it won't rain.) Also, the saying of the same thing twice in different words, generally considered to be a fault of style (e.g. they arrived one after the other in succession ).